Cookies disclaimer

Continue Our site saves small pieces of text information (cookies) on your device in order to deliver better content and for statistical purposes. You can disable the usage of cookies by changing the settings of your browser. By browsing our website without changing the browser settings you grant us permission to store that information on your device. Additional information can be found under the cookie section of this page.


University accreditation applies to courses from this institution


A cooperation agreement and a MoU to establish the Cooperative European Medicines Development Course (CEMDC) a university network for jointly teaching medicine developemnt has been signed by representatives of ten universities from Central, Eastern, and Southern Europe in 2013. The CEMDC obtained a PharmaTrain Center of Excellence accreditation.

The CEMDC’s organisation is connected to the European Union’s Innovative Medicine Initiative (IMI) programme, while the preparatory work was carried out within the Geographical Extension working group of the IMI-funded PharmaTrain (PhT) project. Following an assessment, the programme also received prioritised funding from the European Union.

The IMI-PhT selected Dr. Sándor Kerpel-Fronius (professor, Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapy, Semmelweis University) as the Academic Leader of the Geographical Extension sub-project, while Dr. Matthias Gottwald (Vice-President of Research Policy and Collaborations, Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals) was named Industrial Co-Leader. The coordination of the CEMDC has been entrusted upon Semmelweis University in cooperation with the Governing Board formed by the CEMDC partner universities.

The ten initial universities participating in the CEMDC are: University of Tartu (Estonia), Semmelweis University (Hungary), Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (Lithuania), Medical University of Warsaw (Poland), University of Lisbon (Portugal), University of Medicine and Pharmacy of Targu Mures (Romania), University of Belgrade (Serbia), Comenius University of Bratislava (Slovakia), University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), Gazi University (Turkey).



Courses 9



Semmelweis University
Hungary (HU)

International department web address


(+36-1) 210 4416

(+36-1) 2104412